Hiding Google Team Drives

Hiding Google Team Drives

Hiding drives

Team Drives are useful for projects. Once the project is done there is no need to access the Team Drive but, we don’t want to get rid of it. Archive it and recall it later.

There is often very important information that can be of use lather. Some projects recur and it is useful to hold on to the Team Drive for future projects.

Our department creates lots of Team Drives for different projects. We often revisit projects the following year but don’t need to see the drive during the rest of the months. Hidden Team Drives are not visible in the main Team Drive section. They are not deleted but placed in a section for hidden drives. This is similar to arching a drive or archiving something like a Google Classroom. Click the team menu and hide Team Drive.

Hide Team Drive

Hide Team Drive

To unhide a Team Drive we need to go to the Hidden Team Drives section.

Hidden Team Drives

Hidden Team Drives

Select Team Drive to unhide.

Un-hidden Team Drive

Un-hidden Team Drive

Click the actions button in the menu bar and select unhide Team Drive. Return to Team Drives to view the active Team Drive. All content in hidden Team Drives is still accessible by any member. Shared links to documents are available too.

I use Team Drives to develop spreadsheet applications and Google sites. I hide these drives to keep things clutter-free. Access to the content remains available to campuses. Note that hiding a Team Drive on my account does not hide it from other accounts that have access.

Unhide a Team Drive

Unhide a Team Drive